Is this a good way to test my idea or will I get in trouble?

This topic contains 7 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Sally Sally 2 years ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Peyton
    Peyton
    Participant

Hey guys!

First post here. I know everyone’s pretty busy so I’ll get right to the point.

I want to start a business selling a simple supplement (caffeine and theanine capsules) and I had an idea on for how to test to see if anyone will buy it.

Basically, all of the manufacturers I’ve talked to are wanting me to do an initial run of 3-4k. I’m a broke college student, so it’s out of the question right now, unfortunately.

So the way I see it, I can do two things. The main question is about the second option.

1. Set up a landing page or a store and accept pre orders for this product. When I get enough I get it made.

2. The exact supplement is available from a bulk supplement store for ~10 cents per pill. I was thinking about buying a few of these, putting them into my own bottles, and selling them for the time being. Basically just reselling an existing product.

I guess I’m wondering – is this legal? Also, if I were to do it, does anyone have any recommendations for where I can find plain white bottles or, preferably, someone who can make the white bottles and the label.

Thanks so much for the help. Look forward to hearing back from you guys.

– Peyton

Profile photo of Jay Thomas
    Jay Thomas
    Participant

Welcme to the forums!

I think you could probably do that. Jnathan might want to double check u though. Lots of products are resold under different brands so it doesn’t seem too weird to me.

A google search for hdpe bottles ought to get you on your way and you could probably just order the labels yourself and put them on. Good luck!

Profile photo of Stephen
    Stephen
    Participant